What People Are Saying

Here is just a small sample of the thank-you notes and reviews provided by North Umpqua Retreat visitors:

Review #9043091 “Ladies Fun Weekend”

River House

The driving directions provided by Rich were very helpful. The house is fabulous. The views, are spectacular. When Rich came by to welcome us, we instantly felt comfortable and safe, which lasted throughout the weekend. He wanted to make sure any questions we had were answered. He told us about hiking trails that ended at waterfalls. Kindling was gatherd and ready for us to use by the outside file. The water and rocks that can be viewed from the porch are awe inspiring. The private trail to the water was easy to climb up and down. AC worked, beds were comfortable, hot water in the shower, a nice size kitchen to do the cooking. Two nights, was not long enough, next time we will rent it for a week and make this a yearly trip. ~Cyndi and friends, August 2014

Review #9141658 “Awesome vacation”

We enjoyed a week long vacation and couldn't have asked for more. Was absolutely gorgeous, we had a great time laying out, floating on the river, and going down the rapids. The owner was great and was very nice and more then willing to help if we needed anything. The view was wonderful but being down on the water was just awesome. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation! Thank you so much for having us and we will be back again! ~ Trish and family, August 2014

Best place to stay on the North Umpqua!

This last weekend my friends and I stayed at the River House just upstream of Glide Oregon on the North Umpqua. This was our second time staying in this picturesque location. Upon arrival, after we got off of the river, we were greeted with a beautiful evening and a very comfortable bed. The parking area at the house is ample which is key if you're towing a drift boat like us. The next morning we drove up the road (1/2 mile) to little deli for some great breakfast burritos and headed to the Colliding Rivers boat launch (only 2-3 miles away from the house). The River House is a great jump off point for any float on the North Umpqua, its central location really maximizes your fishing to driving time. After we caught 4 beautiful wild winter steelhead we called it a float and headed back to the cabin. Our day wasn't done though as the River House has it own beautiful steelhead drift right out front. We didn't get one that particular evening but a prettier drift you won't find, complete with old growth and ancient basalt rapids. We even saw a river otter hunting mussels. I highly recommend staying at the River House whether your goal is catching a 20 pound wild winter steelhead or relaxation.~ Garth (Portland), 03/02/12

Peace & Quiet

We had a wonderful time in your river retreat. The sounds of the Umpqua, the beautiful view, the great hiking.... The house had everything we needed -- peace and quiet.~ Marth and Lou, 9/?/12

Amazing Place

This is an amazing place with beautiful views of a beautiful river. Awesome fishing water at your doorstep.~ Ty, Clay, and Lou, 1/15/13

Retreat For All Occasions

What a perfect weekend getaway. Several houses to stay in. This is our second stay, in a different home. The fall/winter visit was just as enjoyable, adventurous and relaxing as the the summer visit. The sounds and smell of nature right outside the window, the decks overlooking the river and the many activities for all seasons, all within range of a short walk or short drive. There was not one thing missing in the home. Home was very clean, warm, relaxing and the beds are very comfortable. Nice to have full kitchen and laundry. Large dining table for our group to enjoy games. Great for the gals and the guys. We recommend it to all our friends and family.~ Guest (Dexter, Oregon), 11/25/11

Gorgeous house with an even better view

This freshly remodeled house sits right on the North Umpqua River. The back deck is lierally right above a private rapid, fishing and and swimming hole. If for some reason you ever wanted to leave, the North Umpqua trail starts about 2 miles up the road. There is challenging river running upstream of here and mellow floating downstream. Just about any activity that can be enjoyed in Oregon can be accessed within an hour from the front door.~ paddle/pedal (Portland, OR), 08/01/11

snowy fernHome for the Holidays

The house truly became our home for the holidays, so we stayed a whole week. Very comfortable beds and kitchens and everything. The forest of huge trees is awe inspiring, right across the river from the house. The natural beauty and wildlife (deer, turkeys, eagles, etc.) were a pleasant change from the scenery of a military base. We hope to be back next year!~ Breanne and Andru (Okinawa Japan), 11/28/11

Thanksgiving on the River

What a great place to hide out from holiday madness. The river and forest setting is soothing, yet the little store is only a short walk away. The houses were cozy despite cold rainy weather. We didn't want to leave!~ Wayne, Brandi, Ally, Austin, 11/24/11

Girls Week Out Kayaking

The best retreat imaginable. Coffee watching eagles cruising up the river, swimming in the sun, hanging in hammock shade. Spent several whole days right at the retreat, even kayaked the rapids out front. Day trips to Crater Lake (hiking), Bandon-by-the-Sea (crab eating), and wine country (tasting, of course) were all close and memorable. Comfy houses in a gorgeous setting -- we'll be back!~ Nancy, Diane, Jenny, 08/10/10

Great cottage and people!

My husband and I rented the blue cottage for four nights. It was a perfect base for visiting the area - hiking, wineries, sight seeing. Karen and Richard are wonderful people. They made us feel so welcome and at ease. They took time to visit with us, make dining suggestions, etc. We even attended the "Music on the Half Shell" concert with them! The cottage is lovely - clean, well maintained and roomy. We had four nights of great sleep - the bed is comfortable, the air cool and the sound of the nearby river. Also, right at the edge of the river is a beautiful deck for seeing and hearing the North Umpqua River.~ Erin (St. Paul, MN), 06/20/11

Relaxing yet adventurous vacation destinationRiver rentals

What a great place to vacation. This was the first time I visited Oregon and I can't imagine any better way than this. The perfect combination of relaxation with adventure! The cabin was very clean and welcoming, the river deck was prime for having coffee in the morning and watching the moon and stars in the evening. The peaceful sound of the river was very calming at any time of day or night. Many exciting adventures to be had........as adventurous as you desire. It was one of those trips I didn't want to end.....and I would love to visit again! Become one with nature and try this place....you won't regret it!!
~ Nancy (Clarkston, Michigan), 08/11/10

HeronGreat Vacation Cottage on the North Umpqua

Nature surrounds you at this peaceful location on the Umpqua river. The cottage is very clean and decorated tastefully just as the pictures show. The evening breeze cooled the air for a perfects night rest on the comfortable bed. It is the perfect place to just relax on the river deck and read a book, or watch for wildlife in the river below. The sound of the river rapids is calming and the views of nature surrounding it are beautiful. We visited Crater Lake, Toketee Falls, and the Pacific Coast all just a short road trip through winding mountains. Another awesome adventure we had near by was kayaking down the river right in front of the cottage. This was one of the best vacations I have ever had. Thanks to some advise and much guidance from the owners we were able to fit all this touring and adventure in a short 5 day stay. I would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a cozy, comfy cottage who enjoys the things that nature has to offer.
~ Ondee (DeWitt, Michigan), 08/11/10

cedar plank salmonSolitary Resort

My stay at the cottage reminded me of some of Thoreau's musings in his classic, Waldon. While enjoying a steaming black cup of coffee I could scope out the access route across the high terrace to the steep drop where the greenery tumbles down to the Umpqua below. The cottage and its grounds encourage relaxation and lounging, while the surrounding environment encourages the worthwhile pursuit of river loitering, perhaps with a rod in hand. Unlike Thoreau's crib, this cabin was meticulously and carefully decorated with modern, rich color schemes, floorings, and furnishings that blended in a way that imparted an aura of simple extravagance. This is clearly a solitary resort, and I would recommend it to anyone who seeks to get away for a refreshing weekend.
~ Kaylea (Medford, OR), 05/15/09


Check out the winter steelhead flyfishing review on the Caddisfly's Oregon Flyfishing Blog: http://oregonflyfishingblog.com/2013/01/21/north-umpqua-river-fishing-and-accomadation-report/